• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Tips for Sisterwives #1

Ginny

Real Person
Female
Not quite sure where to post this. Though I'm not new to plural marriage, I'm new to regular posting (and perusing) the forum so I'm just putting this here in hopes that it is the correct place. If not, I have full confidence that the leadership of Biblical Families will give it a good home.

First, I'd like to mention that I don't love the term "Sisterwife". In our family, we don't refer to each other as sisterwives. We just use names. Never really had a need for a title I guess. Though it's a good word for the relationship, it doesn't really work for me personally (and I can safely represent the two other women in our family on this issue as well). But since I'm here, and it's a rather universally used term for the relationship between the women in a plural marriage, I'll just stick with it. At this point, it's easier for me. I'd rather just get on with this post. :)

Most people think that the big elephant in the plural marriage room is the jealousy. The envy. Lots of hand-wringing about how much time the husband spends with each wife and if everyone will be happy at the end of the day. In the early years of our family those things were certainly a big issue. You grow as a family and you learn how to be a little more selfless and a lot more forgiving. Someday, I might write a post about how to get through that season. That's not where I'm going with this today though.

I'm here to tell you that in my experience there are bigger issues that arise and most of those issues are between the women.

Let me just tell you the story that inspired this post...